Christmas Eve Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding!

img_8012

So coming back to the First World means I have access to funny things like chia seeds and quinoa, without having to search the whole city and pay crazy import prices like in Georgia.

Today I tried to make a pudding I’ve been eyeing up for a while now by Minimalist Baker. Except I improvised some of the ingredients and kind of judged by eye rather than measurements. I think it was quite successful for my first time using chia seeds!

You will need:

1/3 cup of chia seeds
A cup and a half of rice or almond milk (I used rice, good if you prefer less nutty flavours)
3 tablespoons of cocoa powder, a really rich, pure one is best if you’re tryin to be healthy
3 tablespoons of honey (I used a beautiful raw Polish one)
Vanilla extract or cinnamon if you fancy

Toppings

I layered banana in mine
Maple syrup
Quinoa for that added crunch
Dark chocolate flakes
Cranberries or pomegranate seeds
Any nut butter (Shota had cashew)
Coconut shavings or cream

I think almost anything would work, be adventurous. For a Christmas twist, cinnamon, orange extract, dried fruits, brandy, Bailey’s cream… You can see where this is going.

img_7988
Start by adding everything to a bowl. If you’re going to blend it later, add your honey/maple syrup then before blending.

img_8002
Whisk thoroughly, it’ll smell good and look a little bit like chocolate-covered frog spawn, but trust me.

Blend now if you want, I didn’t bother.

Leave covered in the fridge overnight (for breakfast) or atleast 5 hours if you want it for dessert. It might not expand much but it should go to chocolate mousse consistency.

The next day is the fun bit… Toppings!

img_8004

This is where you get adventurous, but I recommend tasting it first to see if it needs something more sweet, bitter, or neutral on top. Then enjoy! It keeps for about 2 or 3 days in the fridge too if you make too much.

img_8014
img_8012

The energy we got from this breakfast was enough for Shota and I to tackle Berlin city center on Christmas Eve. We were bouncing all day, all 6 miles on foot!

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays everyone!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Eve Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding!

Leave a Reply

