Ten things that made me happy this week!

10 things nov

Let me apologise yet again for my delayed happy post – I was fighting with power cuts all week thanks to some builders installing gas then we went to the village to relax. I promise there’s a huge post about it coming your way soon! Sometimes life just gets in the way, what can you do?


I’m actually glad I didn’t queue this one in advance because I wanted to mention but not focus on the attacks in Paris. It’s devastating and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t shocked when I woke up to the BBC News notification on Saturday. I did my best to avoid social media for several reasons, the main one being people who use such awful events to further ‘support’ their anti-Islam arguments.

The situation in Europe is tense and Nationalist movements have a chance to get the upper hand if we let them. It’s ridiculous, these people are fleeing from the same people that they’re being put in a box with. It’s important to focus on the bigger picture and not let ourselves be passive to all the information we receive. You can only combat such violence with compassion and understanding, not discrimination and aggression.

The fact it happened in Paris is shocking because it’s in a place many of us know personally, and not in some distant, sandy place somewhere across the globe. It’s so important to remember that the media has a motive behind everything we see, even down to small details like how places are portrayed.

If you only see violent imagery of people with brown skin and headscarves running from bombs in a derelict town then it’s very difficult to imagine that these same people are doctors and teachers with children, smart phones and a love for comedy films like us. Let’s pay the same attention and support to places like Beirut and Baghdad who are suffering as well as Paris.

Now that I’ve got that out of the way, let’s spread some positivity…

1: Hedy Lamarr‘s birthday. Hedy is my favourite actress. She’s such a role model, I highly recommend reading up on her, watching her films and just generally basking in her brilliance.

2: Persimmons. I’d never tried them before coming to Georgia and they’re probably one of my favourite fruits. It’s the season for them now so go and see if you can find some – they’re great in smoothies too! Just be careful it’s ripe enough because, my God, they are repulsive when they’re not ripe.

3: Not plucking my eyebrows. It’s been difficult to resist but I’m starting to really like the natural shape that’s coming back.

4: Double-rainbows at golden hour in Autumn – incredible colours!

5: Indian food! It’s been a while (well, since London) and I’m always very cautious when it comes to trying new Indian restaurants. Indian food is one of my favourites so has to be perfect, or it just makes me sad. We made our way to Nutsubidze Street where we visited Krishna Food Corner (formally Shree). Gorgeous, authentic cuisine with very impressive prices!

6: Birds collecting twigs for their nest.

7: Simon and Garfunkel, perfect music for this kind of weather.

8: Dogs with smiley eyes – just wait until you see my blog post!

9: Seeing the Tiger Lillies live, such good fun!

10: Preparing the move to Berlin for later this week, excited isn’t the word!

Tell me all about your week, let’s spread some happiness!

6 thoughts on “Ten things that made me happy this week!

  1. kaoleekoala says:

    Yes persimmons how did I miss out on these for almost 20 years!!! Mind blowing. And Indian food oh my… I have one right down my house and it is heavenly. Just five mins away 🙂 Thanks for making me crave it and go hungry xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

