Wine Harvest in Kaspi

IMG_5384

It’s wine time!

Autumn in Georgia means two things – wine and chacha making. Chacha is a vodka-like drink that I made last autumn, as I was actually in the UK during wine harvest last year.

Despite feeling a little under-the-weather, I was excited to join Shota and his friends to harvest wine in Kaspi, a town in central Georgia, about an hour away from Tbilisi.

We woke early, and it was bloody cold.

IMG_5321

I love seeing the land in Georgia. Especially areas that look completely uninhabited by people. During the summer, Georgia looked like the Middle East. With dry rolling hills and straw fields. I like seeing the transition now as the rain brings some vitality back to the earth.

Speaking of earth, we drove past a village called Armazi which has a pretty interesting history of pre-Christian/Pagan sacrifices apparently.


IMG_5324

Considering how cold it was, we started with some chacha shots. I struggle to drink anything before a cup of tea in the morning, so distracted myself with the local roog friends instead.

IMG_5340

IMG_5366
Then, we got straight to it!

IMG_5333

Yes, I was too chicken to climb the ladder, but being 5’11” I embraced my inner giraffe and helped quite a bit.

IMG_5360

While the men worked, I went exploring.

IMG_5427

IMG_5433

IMG_5434

By the time all grapes were collected, everyone was suitably sticky, sweet and ready for wine.

IMG_5403

… But first, squeezing!

IMG_5450

It’s on my bucket list to jump in a squeeze grapes by stomping on them, but that wasn’t such an appetising thought considering how cold it was!

IMG_5458

Despite some very old-fashioned equipment, it looked promising and already tasted good!

The guys prepared a barbecue for mtsvadi, as usual, while I went exploring some more. This time I found rabbits, pumpkins and persimmon!

IMG_5465
IMG_5461

Finally a supra to end the day. I avoided the mtsvadi and chopped liver and indulged in espinakhi, ajapsanadli and last year’s perfect orange wine!

IMG_5467

Have you ever been to a wine harvest? I’d love to hear about it!

One thought on “Wine Harvest in Kaspi

Leave a Reply

