‘We All Looked Up’ by Tommy Wallach Review and Guest Post

we-all-looked-up-book-cover
I was so excited to receive an email last week from The Teenage Bookaholic, offering to write a guest post for my blog! I love reading but always tend to read the same books over and over, and don’t really venture very far from my comfort zone when I just want something to relax with in the evening.

The Teenage Bookaholic’s reviews are very honest and concise with a mixture of genres and opinions. This book in particular is intriguing to me, as I love anything that helps you to put things in to perspective. I might have to give the album a listen too!

So, enjoy!

We All Looked Up ~ Tommy Wallach
“You don’t wanna go out of this world with regrets. If there’s something you want to do, you do it. You take this life by the balls and you tell it that you existed.”
―  Tommy Wallach, We All Looked Up

We All Looked Up is the story of four teenagers, the slacker, the athlete, the outcast and the overachiever. Everybody is given two months to live, as an asteroid is about to hit Earth wiping out two thirds of the population. These teenagers have got two months to really live their lives. Told from the point of view of the four high school seniors, We All Looked Up is a book that stays with you for a long time.

We All Looked Up is very different from my usual read, as I normally read crime and mystery whereas this novel is very sci-fi and slightly dystopian. I loved the way that during the book Tommy Wallach swapped between the four different character’s point of view, so you could see different people’s opinions on the events that happened. The thing that I loved most about this book was the fact that it was so realistic. Most books, when portraying teenagers, make them seem so different to what they actually are like. Whereas in this story I could actually relate to the characters thoughts and feelings. However this novel is very much a ‘people book’ this is the name I give books where the plot is just people going about their lives. Some people love these books and I for one appreciate that, but for me at times I felt a bit bored and didn’t really want to carry on reading. I also found that there were points in the story where nothing was happening which was also very dull for me.

We All Looked Up hasn’t been made into a film and so far it isn’t part of a series, however Tommy Wallach has actually written an album to go with the book. The album is on iTunes and is named after the book. A personal favourite of mine is ‘A Natural Disaster’.

We All Looked Up is a book that made me think about the small things in life that I take for granted, and how lucky me and you are to be here.
9 thoughts on “‘We All Looked Up’ by Tommy Wallach Review and Guest Post

  1. Steve Smith says:

    I have something of a dilemma with this book. The premise based on the review really doesn’t appeal to me. I am a fan of sci-fi, fantasy, crime, thriller and horror. Two key favourites are the works of Sir Terry Pratchett and Stephen King.

    Here lies my dilemma. The premise sounds like a lot of teen-lit. A journey of self-discovery, new friendships and a reassessment of life views when the chips are stacked. I may be wrong, but that is how it sounds to me. Yet the recommendation on the front implies it is like The Stand.

    The Stand is a firm favourite of mine, by King. It shares a similarity with this book in that it paints a dystopian picture. But The Stand is pretty much as dystopian as you can get. It isn’t about four teens coming to terms with an impending mass extinction event. It is about two opposing groups (good and evil) coming to terms with an event that has already occurred. It isn’t a journey of self-discovery in the same way We All Looked Up is, but the struggle – the innate human desire and ability to survive, rather than to accept the end and almost give up.

    I am in no way faulting your post, quite the opposite. You have summed this up far better than the tagline on the cover image does in my view – giving a real view of the book than what I fear is somewhat misleading.

    Maybe I am wrong though, and maybe if I ever pick up this book I will enjoy it, but who knows, it just doesn’t marry up with the opinion that it is the new The Stand. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookaholic says:

      I understand what you mean and I’m definitely going to read some of Stephen King’s books now as I’m not very familiar with him 🙂

      Like

      • Steve Smith says:

        I would definitely recomend The Stand, IT, The Green Mile, The Dark Tower and The Shining as well worth a try.

        Like

      • itstartedinoxford says:

        I read The Green Mile when I was about 14? It was pretty traumatising for me, especially the detailed description when they didn’t wet the sponge… My mum loved his books so I’ve always been interested despite it not really being a genre I’m in to 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

