Surprise Sweet Potato and Spinach Curry

IMG_2727

Since we’re travelling soon, Shota and I have been cautious when food shopping not to buy too much because the thought of wasting food is just plain depressing.

This meant we had almost nothing in the kitchen last night, as I awaited Shota’s return from work armed with some staples, so I improvised with whatever I found and ended up with what tasted almost exactly like Bombay Potatoes.

I love Indian food, although sometimes find it quite heavy. This dish was a bit too much considering it was still about 35° last night. Nevertheless, I was still proud of my accidental discovery, especially since I’m always craving something new.

Again, excuse photo quality while I’m in this damn kitchen, and enjoy the recipe!

You will need:

2 large sweet potatoes chopped into 1 – 1.5″ cubes
Spinach (I used 3 balls of frozen spinach)
2 tablespoons of tomato purée
1 large chopped onion
A splash or two of boiled water
A sprinkling of chili flakes
Half a chopped green chili (more if you’re brave)
2 teaspoons of dried oregano
(if you go overboard on spice and aren’t vegan) a few tablespoons of plain yogurt or cream cheese

Start by either steaming or boiling your sweet potatoes. Steaming is better for keeping in nutrients but I don’t have a steamer… Make sure they’re still firm and don’t turn to mush as they should keep their shape when mixed in with the sauce later.

IMG_2705

Put to one side and fry your onions until translucent, then add your oregano and chili flakes. This bit made me choke a bit so it was good and spicy, but if you want something more mild then put in a little first and adjust to taste.

IMG_2708

Give those flavours a few minutes to mingle before adding your spinach and chili flakes

IMG_2707

IMG_2711
Add in your tomato purée and boiled water. Don’t add too much water or it’ll end up like a soup, but just enough so it’s not dry or sticking.

This would be when you add your emergency yogurt or cream cheese if you went crazy with the spice. It can be saved! It will need almost continuous stirring not to stick and to help break up your frozen spinach if needs be.

IMG_2716
Mix in your sweet potatoes and make sure they’re well-coated.

IMG_2723

And serve! I decided just to serve with buckwheat to avoid feeling so heavy, but of course rice or even quinoa would be great too!

I’ll be having the leftovers for lunch now so I’m pretty excited! This was a portion enough for three people I suppose.

IMG_2726

Let me know if you decide to give it a go! Also, can you recommend some other curries? I always tend to make the same sort of thing but they’re just good with everything!

3 thoughts on “Surprise Sweet Potato and Spinach Curry

  1. ambitiouswanderer says:

    Omnomnom, just came back from SE-Asia and thought I would be “allergic” to rice for at least the next half year, but your curry makes my mouth water! So what are the pinkish looking things on the plate in the first picture and next to the plate on the last one? I read the recipe, but it doesn’t look familar. Onion maybe?

    I will try this soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

