Biting Vegan Sandwich Filler!

IMG_2516

I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with sandwiches. I love how practical and somewhat healthy they are, but hate the repetitive fillings and pairings. I was raised on either peanut butter or cheese & pickle sandwiches, with the occasional looks-like-Nutella-but-is-actually-pâté thrown in (thanks dad…).

That being said, a good old-fashioned sandwich is hard to come by in Georgia, especially with vegan fillings…

So I made my own! It took less than 10 minutes and has the perfect amount of bite to wake you up on a dizzy summer’s day. Perfect for picnics or with salad!

You will need:

A can of drained and rinsed chickpeas
4 – 6 spring onions depending on your taste (mine were very long and skinny, you might need less… Or more)
A few sprigs of fresh dill, finely chopped
1tsp of spicy mustard, more if you’re brave
Some salt and pepper
Half a lemon (to squeeze)
A sprinkling of chili flakes if the mustard isn’t enough for you
(If you’re not fussed about Vegan) a tablespoon of mayo to stick it together, or a tasteless Vegan alternative. Not completely necessary, but recommended

First drain and rinse your chickpeas, keep the juice and make this for dessert! Mash them in a bowl with a fork. I kept some whole for extra texture.


Add your lemon juice, mustard and whatever else you fancied throwing in there (you might want to taste a bit to see if you need more mustard… I personally added twice more because I like my mustard to sizzle my nostrils).

Then add your chopped spring onions and dill.


Mix everything together and you’re done! I’d recommend leaving it to sit for half an hour or so in the fridge to let the flavours mingle, but if you really can’t resist then spread a generous amount on some rye bread or crackers and dig in!

I had mine with some buckwheat as a quick lunch, but avocado or some sort of zesty salad would be great. This Deliciously Ella salad would be perfect!

This would be perfect to make in bulk for the week too, since it keeps for a few days atleast.

Let me know if you give it a try, it’s not for the faint-hearted mind you!

P.S – More apologies for my photo quality. We’re not going to have pretty food photos until we have daylight in the new flat, so be patient with me…
  

11 thoughts on “Biting Vegan Sandwich Filler!

  1. treatwilliams says:

    Had to think for a second is this awesome because you’re like an attractive woman, or is it awesome in it’s own right. Concluded real quick its awesome in it’s own right. I love everything about this- chickpeas, spiceyness, healthiness, making the godforsaken daily sandwich routine interesting, ease of preparation AND complete novelty value (for me) Class!

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Haha I’m no Nigella, but thanks 🙂 So glad you like! I don’t think it’s something I’ll make often just because I find chickpeas REALLY heavy, but it’s good to know it’s there when I’m bored and itching for something a bit different 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tj6james6 says:

    I read on another blog you could try hummus as a mayo alternative but since it’s made from chickpeas that might be a little redundant.

    If you’re not lacto-ovo you could try a little sour cream to hold it together and then make it spicier :D. Ohhhhhhhhh, a little coconut flour or almond flour 😀 to hold it instead *ahem*.

    Yeah, I like experimenting in the kitchen, lol. Not in the summer though, no a/c means I do NOT want to stand in an almost airless room and heat up the rest of the apartment *grumble*.

    Like

Leave a Reply

