Some links I’ve enjoyed this week

Atticus_and_Tom_Robinson_in_court

I know it’s only Friday but this week I’ve been in one of those moods where I’m entertained really easily. You know what I mean, when everything is really satisfying? So I compiled a list of things I’ve either found funny, been aroused by or found fascinating from the World Wide Web!


Articles

This article about Harper Lee’s potential comeback. I mentioned To Kill a Mockingbird a while back, and it’s definitely in my top 5 books of all time. I am salivating over the thought of Go Set a Watchman but can’t help but be nervous about the permission and inside story regarding Lee’s mental state and possible exploitation. This article explained the situation very well although I will approach any sequels with serious lust and caution.

This article about some people aging 3X as fast as others. I find this kind of thing so interesting, especially as I’ve always felt older than I am. Not to mention the grey hairs popping up at 21. This is of course focused on the physical elements which isn’t exactly a good thing, but I imagine it could apply mentally too? Or do I just seem older because I’ve always looked older and therefore was always treated older? Either way, food for thought.

Fidel Castro’s letter to Tsipras. I’ll be honest here, I don’t understand what’s going on in Greece at all, I find it so hard to wrap my head around. If anyone could explain it to me like a 6 year old it’d be appreciated. This article was a favourite purely for a Fidel Public Appearance. I just have a soft spot for him, don’t ask.

… and some videos

Jon Stewart ranting about pizza. His accent kills me. That’s the only time I’ve found myself attracted to an American accent aside from Jack Nicholson. Unf.

Speaking of unf, this Marlon Brando screen test. Good lord my ovaries… The best bit is at 3:50ish.

Jimmy Carter’s TED talk about human rights abuse and women. He hit the nail on the head and, to be honest, the sad truth is that old, rich white men need to be aware before anything will happen since they’re the ones in charge. Very refreshing to hear.

Another TED talk but from Nick Hanauer speaking such sense about economy and disparity. That kind of logic is always welcome here!

To end on a happy note, Trevor Noah’s standup. I’m so happy to hear that he’ll be Jon Stewart’s replacement since he’s one of the best comedians I’ve heard in a long time. This linked clip about British colonialism is hilarious.

Would love to hear your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Some links I’ve enjoyed this week

Leave a Reply

