England V Georgia: Tradition

1924891_10202394964169499_1563023120_n

Tradition. A word I can’t say without singing. I think it has a different meaning to everyone, although I have to admit it’s something I rarely thought about before I moved to Georgia.


Tradition is everything in Georgia. I’ve never seen a country so sure of its identity, yet so hypocritical in it’s actions. Tradition ties in easily with religion which I’ll try to avoid for now, but just like anywhere, how can you consider yourself Christian or religious when you can be so full of hate?

Not that Georgians are, anything but. However, they tend to use tradition as an excuse when behaving illogically. Why do you hate gay people? Tradition. Why do you only prepare your potatoes the same way all the time? Tradition. Why do you toast incessantly? Tradition.

It’s a good thing and a bad thing. Don’t get me wrong, I admire the strength of tradition and the impact it has on every day life here. Not that it’s always a bad thing but I notice how it’s used in a derogatory way, even with Georgians.

Tradition for Georgia means their land, wine, toasts, religion, habits and literature. Great, and amazing how so many people can be tuned in to the exact same habits and opinions because of tradition is also quite something.

My issue is when tradition is used as an excuse. It’s halting progress here, in particular the movement towards Europe. Europe is gay, secular and debauched. Unfortunately such drastic attitudes are felt across Georgia, in particular the villages and amongst the older generation. I had the pleasure of meeting one prime example just last night…

I can’t help but feel like Georgia is cutting off its nose to spite its face. The new generation of adults here are just as open-minded and enthusiastic as any other European. They’re resentful towards the harsh rules and traditions society imposes and are currently rebelling against norms with shaved heads, protests and social media campaigns. Great!

The older generations (of course not all of them, but easily 90%) are determined for Georgia to continue the way it has. Many of them have a warped impression of both the West and Russia and have never been encouraged to think critically, so any kind of abnormality isn’t received well. I’ve never seen such obviously-biased TV programs and news broadcasts as I have in Georgia, and rarely do people question it.

I know I’m bitching, and to be honest it’s probably because of my lack of understanding and astonishment after meeting this particular man yesterday. I won’t go into details, but he did say how gay people should be shot then followed it with a completely unironic toast to “man’s love”… I was laughing.

10154084_10202740314243035_4247864680110403261_n
My point is, regarding Georgian tradition, that it’s so strong. To the point where it’s smothering. By all means be proud and excited about your country, but focus on your incredible artists and poets instead of how many khinkali a magari katsi can eat.

10417525_10204463658525565_6269475281115901796_n
Now, as for Europe, tradition isn’t so obvious but it’s there. I’ll talk about the UK only for now since every country has their own quirks, most of which you can’t identify unless you’re native or lived there long enough. Georgian tradition is presented on a platter the day you land in Novo Alexeyevka.

As a young Brit, I can confirm that we don’t hold our traditions in the Royal Family, tea or Fox Hunting as much as you’d expect. Okay, maybe tea… But traditions are more personal, even though family seems more distanced than in the Southern parts. I can tell you that tradition for me involves Wallace and Gromit, nose-tingling vinegary chips from the Rainbow, the inevitable sleaziness of any club and Scatty Jackie at the bus station.

It varies from person to person, but these little things are everywhere. You’ll notice them in the queue at Tesco, as one plump, red-faced woman in a beige cardigan works herself into a frenzy at the state of the plastic bags on the counter.

Not saying this is good either, and Brits definitely don’t have such a strong identity as Georgians. This is something Shota found really odd when he first came to the UK, he confessed to me recently. Everyone has their only little habits that somehow fit together and aren’t questioned. Why did that guy bring his own pot of mustard to the carvery?

I feel like identity isn’t such a problem for Brits as you’d expect. Everyone is quite content doing their own thing and have enough arrogance not to feel the need to make a show of it. Usually. In Georgia I feel like they’re more than proud of their traditions, they’re nervous about it and how long it will stay, so enforce it upon you until you’re forced to eat mtsvadi so not to be considered snobbish.

As much as I like the subtle traditions in the UK, I feel like it’d be nice to have a national dress and some excitement over the flag again, but these people so easily turn into Britain First minions so maybe it’s best not… Despite my bitching, this point goes to Georgia, for the pure durability of their habits that hold strong without turning to extremist/ anti-Islam/ anti-anyone-darker-than-you spouts of hate.

I love Roast Dinners but that doesn’t quite balance out the relentless bigotry I’m seeing coming from people I thought were educated. I don’t agree with how the Georgian Orthodox Church conducts themselves either, but atleast they’re understanding and compassionate to other people and religions, and that’s really all it boils down to.

10 thoughts on “England V Georgia: Tradition

  1. Kim, Fit and Legit says:

    I completely agree with your statement that tradition is used as an excuse. Although what I find more upsetting, and more common, is when religion is used an excuse – for hating whole groups of people. People are losing their shit about gay marriage, and the reasoning is always, ‘my religion – a reason to hate whole groups of people. SMH. I cant even. Anyway, I hope you’re still enjoying Georgia!

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      I completely agree! I enjoy smashing their arguments though, and seeing movements where like-minded people are standing up to it (in their own country too!). I am enjoying it, although these things make it quite tiring I have to admit! Have a lovely day 🙂

      Like

  2. Febry says:

    You bring a really good point. Although it’s great to keep certain traditions alive, it’s also best if some of them are changed. In an ever-changing world, we have to adapt ourselves at society’s will. The oldest of traditions are the ones keeping us from growing as a race. Yes, they should be cherished, but if they’re too “backwards” and old fashioned, they’re going to have to eventually change.

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Exactly, I 100% agree. It’s so hard for people to understand where their identity starts and ends when traditions are at the forefront. I think (in Georgia anyway) a lot of how people define themselves directly links to traditions that have been around since Medieval times that just simply don’t make sense or have place in modern society!

      Like

  3. eilishssimpson says:

    Totally agree with those British traditions. “Peanutting” ties at the end of a school day, Tasha Elderfield in the back of a police car again (though not for the reasons that would eventually lead to her imprisonment) and broken glass littering the streets on a sunday morning after everyone got a bit too merry Saturday night… But yes i think tradition in whatever form is important but it should not hold up the progression of a country or incite hateful outbursts from people. Tradition can be a good thing but not if it is at the expense of growth.

    Like

  4. anexactinglife says:

    Great post. The comparison I use is when older people look back at the 1950s and think of it as a golden age. I think life must have been simpler then because so many people went with the flow and did what was expected of them. Grow up, get a job, get married, buy a house, have children, live near your parents. Then along came the 60s. What no one likes to think about is how everyone maintained appearances back then, and there was so much sexism, racism, domestic violence, and so on. Everyone suffered silently. I am all for progress, and if that means breaking tradition, so be it.

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Very interesting! I’m a huuuuge fan of old films, but for the very reason that they’re over-the-top and unrealistic. I love the cheese! I completely agree, it’s silly to think there was ever a time without conflict and problems, although I think in the 1950s a lot of people might have followed that nuclear lifestyle purely after the unrest of the ’40s and their need for something safe. I can’t say for sure, because I wasn’t there, but no doubt it was hard to break the mold – I still see people struggling today! I think it’s exactly the issue happening in Georgia now, they’re definitely a good 50 years behind. I’m all for voicing these issues – at this point, the first thing to do is discuss it! Get rid of taboo! What an inspiring comment, thank you so much. It provoked a debate amongst Shota and I, who had some good ideas how we can progress too 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

