You’ll never make spaghetti the same way again…

  

I’m lazy and always looking for a way to save time, but I also love food and need something that hits the spot or else I turn a bit she-Hulk.

I’d heard of one-pot spaghetti before and decided to wing it earlier this week when I had half an hour to dish something up for two hangry people.

It’s very simple…

You will need:

About 5 chopped mushrooms

3 cloves of finely-diced garlic

Basil, I used fresh and chopped it up. Smelt amazing 

One or two small red peppers, chopped

One large, juicy tomato or half a tin of chopped tomatoes

A few chopped-up spring onions

Some vegetable stock or hot water, enough to cover your ingredients and pasta

Enough spaghetti for your liking, I’m sure you know better than I do as I always do too much

 
Start by frying off your garlic until it becomes fragrant, then add your mushrooms until they brown. Try not to move them about too much and give them space to get extra flavours.

Add the pepper, spring onion and tomato. Fry off for a few minutes, then pour in your water or stock. 

Let it bubble before adding your spaghetti, make sure the water covers it when it softens.

  
Add your basil and salt if you like, then wait ten minutes or so until your spaghetti is soft and the smell is too unbearable to resist. If needs be, add more herbs (never a bad idea!).

 
Et voila! One pot spaghetti! It’s more soupy than if you were to make a sauce, which Shota and I both like. The flavours are much stronger though, since it’s all had time to bubble away together, and it’s so quick and easy! The sauce made it quite light too so I think this will be my go-to this summer. 

Have you tried this before? Let me know what you think! 

14 thoughts on “You’ll never make spaghetti the same way again…

  1. azmihoffmann says:

    I am too afraid to make one pot spaghetti because I don’t want mine to be too soupy. Any tips on the water measurement? 😱

    Like

  2. uju says:

    Look yummy. Can I cook the spag first and make the mixture into a sause to be added later? Pasta from around here tend to have high starch content.

    Like

  3. RCubed says:

    I’ve tried a different version called skillet pasta, and it’s amazing. All the ingredients mixed with the water eventually boil down to become a light sauce. It’s genius! I’ll have to make it again soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

