Giuseppe Review

P1080929 copy I’ve been eyeing-up Giuseppe for a while now because we all know how much I love Italian food but have resisted until recently to venture in there. I try not to get my hopes up with foreign food in Tbilisi since it’s usually crap and/or loaded with mayonnaise. That’s not to say there aren’t a few gems, but generally speaking I’m used to being disappointed when I compare to the food I took for granted in merry old London. Maybe it was the heat making us delirious, or because Shota initiated wanting pasta for the first time ever, but we went to Giuseppe on Saturday – aka the first day of the year where it’s been sweltering hot and I felt sick all day because I’m British and tend to wither in anything above 25°. Of course it would make sense that I ordered the cheesiest thing on the menu. I don’t know, I managed to stomach olives earlier in the day and figured I was grown-up enough to eat spinach and ricotta ravioli too. I suppose part of me wished it would be like the horrifically sweet tinned Ravioli I was raised on. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it but maybe in the winter when I’m desperate for comfort food. It was so heavy although really wasn’t much, and I kind of expected a tomato sauce with it, but that’s my own fault. P1080932 copy By the way, the Vegan thing has turned into me cutting down on dairy for the meantime, since I don’t eat any of it at home but when we’re out or with friends it’s completely impossible to find anything substantial and Vegan. That, and I want to stay well-nourished which can be pretty expensive here when Vegan. So cutting down is enough for now, until the Vegan Cafe opens anyway (if you fancy supporting it, click here!) Shota went for a Carbonara, which seemed just as heavy although maybe more fun to eat with more things going on. Plus the pasta was perfectly al dente. We both misjudged our needs considering the blistering heat, but that’s not to say the food wasn’t good. There were huge selections to choose from and the salads and bruschetta looked perfect on other peoples’ tables, we were just giddy is all. P1080931 copy We considered dessert anyway, only to give up on the idea when we were ignored when the Russians next to us demanded attention, even though we were first. I felt a bit sorry for the girl but she was quite rude herself. I would ask a question in English because the menu was in English as well as Georgian and it’s the most multi-cultural part of town, and she would look at Shota and reply in Georgian as she knew he was Georgian. She spoke over us a lot too and didn’t actually know much about the dishes or anything. Her Russian was good though, so I assume she generally didn’t know English. Everything else aside, the way it was decorated and the atmosphere was great. The toilets blew my mind, they were lit in such a way that I felt like an opera damsel and the most elegant touches like flannels, swirly coat hangers and huge blooms in every corner impressed me more than anything. It’s the little things. I sound quite harsh in this review but to be honest I’m just kicking myself for being stupid in my food choice. You could see into the underground kitchen (and the chefs could see up my skirt too..) and everything was fresh and clean, just as you’d expect from a classic Italian kitchen. The worst part was the service, which is no surprise anywhere in Tbilisi, and even then it wasn’t bad at all compared to others we’ve encountered. I’d recommend going there but definitely go for picky things rather than huge plates, which I’ll be doing next time. I found it quite expensive too but the environment (right next to Vake Park and with expensive houses nearby) dictated that before we even sat down. Overall, I’d give it a 7/10. P1080926 By the end of it I was feeling as green as the carpet, and we still went for more icecream!

6 thoughts on “Giuseppe Review

  1. Worlds Biggest Fridge Magnet says:

    It sounds like you enjoyed using the Loo far more than having the meal. I have never before read a review where the toilets hit the high point of the visit.
    As for feeling wimpy in the heat, don’t forget in the wonderful words of the supremely brilliant Noel Coward “Mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun” So a brit abroad so soak up a measly 25c without issue! 😉

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Bahaha it’s saying something isn’t it?! It’s a struggle for me, as soon as I’m sweating I shut down and recoil. That’s not to say the sunshine isn’t amazing though, just the stuffiness and the dust isn’t so fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Worlds Biggest Fridge Magnet says:

        You will get there, we all acclimatise eventually. Try being as big as I was/am in hot weather, then you will surely know discomfort in the heat! I am told that I can now start expecting to feel the cold as I slim down further and further but I cannot see that happening as I am so used to being my own little hot water bottle!
        It sounds like everyday over there is an absolute wonder of new experiences. I hope you continue to enjoy it and tell your stories.

        Like

      • itstartedinoxford says:

        I’m jealous – I’m always cold! My circulation is quite bad so it takes a lot for my hands and feet to warm up. The same even when I was chubbier too! You’ll just have to jog to warm up again 🙂
        It is, it’s the one thing keeping me inspired and staying here rather than going home (as much as I miss it I think I’ll get bored)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. blillaby says:

    These dishes seem yummy from my “Italian point of view” 😛 As you said, probably not the best choices for the hot weather you’re experiencing there.
    The ice-cream was definitely the right crumb of comfort, anyway 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

