May Favourites!

blog 3

I can’t believe it’s June already! Where’s this year going? Anyway, June means summer which I’m literally itching for (I always forget insects exist until the sun comes out) so I have a sort of summer-themed favourites post for you today. I’m no expert, but I just wanted to share a few things that have impressed me this month.

Yves Rocher Coconut Lip Balm and Anti-wrinkle Protection FPS 30

blog 2
The sun is out which means I was in desperate need of some suncream, especially facial suncream. Last summer was quite intense for my grey, British skin with an average 35°+ everyday so this year I vowed to start wearing suncream everyday.

I’ve only just got round to getting one, however, and have to say I’m impressed. Tbilisi isn’t adorned with many shops where one can buy good cosmetic or skincare stuff but Yves Rocher is thankfully one of them.

This suncream is quite heavy so feels really hydrating, but doesn’t make me greasy when worn under makeup. I give it about 10 minutes to settle in before I apply my makeup (I go very minimal in the summer so barely concealer or foundation or anything) and it lasts for a good few hours. It’s recommended to reapply several times throughout the day since you’ll sweat most of it off, but I like that you can still feel it there throughout the day.

I’m skeptical about anti-wrinkle creams, if you don’t want to get wrinkly don’t show emotion and stay out of the sun, but I have to admit that as soon as I applied this, my skin felt taut and firm. I haven’t applied it today, for the first time in a week or so, and my skin does feel significantly plumper, but that might just be thanks to all the fruit I’ve been eating. Anyway, highly recommended and you definitely need to grab yourself some sunscreen, even if it’s rainy!

The other Yves Rocher thing was the coconut lipbalm, which I just had to include because it smells incredible. I can pretend I’m on a Caribbean island. No, but really, my lips are much more hydrated than they are when I just use some Aloe Vera Vaseline, and I find it’s not as addictive because you still feel it on there several hours later. It doesn’t rub off so easily as Vaseline and feels quite moist still, without being sticky – perfect!

The third thing I have to mention is my strawberries – look how well they’re growing! They’re even starting to go red, I’m so excited. I can’t wait for all the berries, watermelon and kiwi that Georgia has to offer now, thanks to sub-tropical climates!

Denim Espadrilles, Zara

blog 1

Okay, so I know they’re not the prettiest shoes out there, but they’re by far the comfiest. I’ve been after some espadrilles for a while now because they seem so perfect and lightweight for summer, and I wasn’t wrong. These ones from Zara are great, because they have a subtle wedge heel too, which I find makes me stand straighter than I do with flats and also means I don’t put so much pressure onto my arch.

The denim material is a bit limited with what it can be worn with, since it’s quite casual to be worn with certain skirts and the colour is a little tricky too, but it’s an inconspicuous-enough colour and design that they’re not so eye-catching anyway. I love how thin the denim is, and was surprised at home comfortable the rope soles are too.

I’ve basically been living in them, and I’d recommend wearing pop socks or something with them since a lot of people say they get smelly easily with bare feet. So far mine are fine with pop socks, and if not they’re easy to throw into the washing machine too! Style goes out the window for me after 25°.

blog 4
I wanted to show you the skirt as well, despite being in my April Favourites too. The length is perfect, the material is practical (for a messy eater like me) and the colour is beautiful. Bear in mind that I’m 5’11” so it might be slightly long for others, but I’m sure that would look gorgeous too.

I can’t find the exact same top online, but it was also from Zara and I just love the cut. You can’t see it so well here but this one is a similar, loose style.

Finally, I wanted to mention a yoga mat I picked up recently, from a shop which I’m sure isn’t anywhere else except Tbilisi. Here’s a link to one that’s pretty similar, and the same pretty colour too. Said yoga mat is featured in my new vlog which you can see here:

That’s it for now, I have work to do and by work I mean swooning over the little chicks and goslings outside my window… What have been your favourite things this month? Can you recommend any body sunscreen for me? Have a beautiful day!

7 thoughts on “May Favourites!

  1. azmihoffmann says:

    Love your vlog X) It really boosts me to make one too. What app do you use for editing it?

    Happy Summer, Chloe 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

