Ten things that made me happy this week!

april happy 2

I’ve been in the best mood all week. The sun is shining, the birds are singing.. And everything is falling in to place! It’s been quite a busy week but I’m really starting to feel like I’m growing as a person here. The benefits of living abroad, and in such a different culture to the one I was raised in, are starting to show. As much as I’m living here with Shota, I feel more confident and independent than I’ve ever been!

1: A Thai food discovery which you can read more about in this post. I’m still reeling from how good it was and avoiding the temptation to live there…

2: Rediscovering The Cuban Brothers! Perfect for summer and I brought up some repressed memories of their live performance where they ended up naked and sliding around on their bellies…

3: Interesting conversation. I dunno, it’s been a while since I got into such a fascinating conversation that didn’t stop for several hours. You leave feeling so refreshed and enlightened!

4: Managing to navigate my way through Tbilisi with taxis and marshrutkas. I’m still not over my fear of being kidnapped everytime I step inside a taxi, especially when they interrogate me, but so far so good. I’ve even managed to haggle the price a little too.

5: Finding some time for reading is always nice, even more so when the weather is good and time seems to stand still for you.

6: Discovering new areas. Since I’m working in a new area now, I’ve taken some time to walk around and find new things like little parks and cafes. Just when I thought I’d sussed Tbilisi, it surprises me with frozen yogurt cafes and Ukrainian delis!

7: Ordering tickets to see Placebo at Tbilisi Open Air Festival! Placebo have been one of my favourite bands since I was about 11 years old and I was fortunate enough to see them in Brixton in 2012 with my brother. I couldn’t believe that they’d come to Tbilisi though so bought a ticket immediately. Just 50GEL for all the bands in the festival that day – amazing!

8: I finally bought the skirt I’ve been coveting for a while. It’s just the prettiest colour and such a practical material for this time of year where it can still get a bit windy!

9: Catching up with my friend and her adorable baby. She completely understands how it is to be here and gets just as excited about the cafes and dogs as I do.

10: I have to mention the shmoogs of Tbilisi again, of course. They’re just so jolly. Speaking of which, a new Facebook page has been created for the ‘Dogs of Tbilisi‘, take a look!

How has your week been? What’s something that made you smile?

16 thoughts on “Ten things that made me happy this week!

  1. Chelsea Louise haden says:

    You’ve moved out of the country?! Wow! When are you back? It looks as though lots has made you smile – it’s good to smile!

    So much has made me smile this bank holiday weekend – climbing a waterfall, meeting new bloggers, getting back on my bike, cycling 21 miles and combatting hills etc etc.

    Life’s wonderful isn’t ?

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Well I’ve been living in Tbilisi, Georgia since last October but I’m originally from Oxford in the UK, I want to go back eventually but I’m quite enjoying myself at the moment (: I’m fortunate that it doesn’t take much to fly back to the UK from here.
      Sounds like you’ve had an amazing weekend! Where are you to be clinging waterfalls and cycling? I bet it’s beautiful (:

      Like

  2. jimmylou says:

    Yes to interesting conversation! It’s amazing when time flies when you talk to someone, and you also go away feeling like you’ve learnt something!

    Eee, so jealous of you living in and exploring a new place!

    And that skirt is amazing! It would be so versatile ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Exactly! I’m trying to teach myself to take more time to listen instead of talk now and it’s really paying off!

      Thank you for saying that, it reminds me that I should appreciate it more too.

      Isn’t it gorgeous? Such a pretty colour too. I’m yet to wear it though, sort of saving it…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Illanovo says:

    What really makes me happy is reading the posts of my blog buds – always positive and with something to share! Wow, life is great

    Like

Leave a Reply

