Ten things that made me happy this week!

April birthday week

Phew! What a crazy month April is turning out to be! This Friday I turned 21, so that’s kept me occupied for a few days. I have to say, it’s this time of year where I’m really missing home. British Spring is my favourite time of year and I can’t think of anything better than to have a picnic with my nearest and dearest in Avebury. That being said, the weather finally picked-up in time for my birthday which gives me a good excuse to buy that skirt I’ve been eyeing for a while…

I can’t believe how fast time is moving, and I don’t just mean because I’m now officially a worldwide adult and have several grey hairs, but it’s almost May and there are so many things I haven’t done. It’s hard to keep my zen with this looping in my head but flowers and kisses always help.

1: My birthday, of course, should be in this list. Although I always get so melancholy and nostalgic. I can’t imagine what I’ll be like when I’m older, hopefully more spontaneous. I don’t like to do much to celebrate, even more so here where I’m not surrounded by my friends. The day itself was okay, but I spent most of it missing my dad and a roast dinner. It was my second birthday in Georgia though!

2: Relaxing after Easter. You saw the post, it was chaos. It proved to me how introverted I can be where I was physically aching for some time alone. It’s not that I dislike people but I get so anxious and overwhelmed when surrounded by so many people, and so many people I can’t communicate with well either!

3: Gaining some new students, two of which are some adorable little girls I’ll start teaching next Tuesday. Also been offered a job as a voiceover because I sound like the ‘Mind the Gap’ lady which is pretty cool.

4: Shota took me to Gardenia Shevanadze on Saturday where I got excited about buying a strawberry plant and some mint to plant in our garden. We haven’t progressed well with the garden actually since the weather has been awful, so wish us luck for the next few weeks!

5: My first Vegan week has been surprisingly easy and I haven’t been tempted by a Bounty at all! For my birthday I decided to pause for a day because there’s no chance of me finding a Vegan birthday cake in Georgia. I can’t say I miss dairy or anything and already I feel so much more energetic and clean. Also I’ve noticed I’m pretty intolerant to gluten too and decided to cut that out and feel amazing for it. Bye bye bloated belly!

6: Yet again I have to mention the Roogs of Tbilisi. I know I mention them a lot but I am overwhelmed by their sweetness. They’re just like Disney stray dogs – quirky and rough-cut but with good hearts. I befriended one that looked like an overgrown Beagle the other day who had a sticker stuck to his nose, cutest thing!

7: We had a huge powercut the other day which forced me to make time to read at home. I generally read ebooks when I travel so not to be bulky, then book books at home. My current book book is Russell Brand’sΒ Revolution and then I’m alternating between James Joyce’sΒ Ulysses and William Morris’Β News from Nowhere. So glad that I’ve found time to read, such a good escape!

8: Waking up to the sound of a cock-a-doodle-doo-off between a Rooster outside my window and one on the other side of the settlement. It lasted for about half an hour and cracked me up with every elongated response. Alpha-Cocks.

9: Rediscovering my love for Amanda Palmer’s Radiohead Ukulele Covers album. The title is something like that but find it here. If you’re not familiar with her go and explore, she’s glorious even if the music isn’t to your taste.

10: Discovering a new silent place within walking distance from my house. With grass, with a small sandy beach, and with more privacy than the other area.

How has your week been? Sorry for my lack of activity but I’ll kick myself up the arse for next week!

12 thoughts on “Ten things that made me happy this week!

  1. Sheila Morris says:

    You and I share the same birthday month but we are decades apart in age. Here is some very good advice for you from someone who will be 69 years old on the 21st. Be spontaneous now because, unfortunately, you won’t have the same good health and energy to be too spontaneous when you are older. Let no grass grow under your feet. Be a rolling stone – worry about the moss later. And Please, please don’t allow your youth to be wasted on the young. Celebrate yourself.Happy Birthday!!
    The End.

    Liked by 1 person

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Happy birthday for tomorrow! Thank you for such an inspiring comment, it’s just what I needed and I’m looking into plane tickets for somewhere exotic and Asian now since I’ve never been… If I can make that work it’s all thanks to you! Again thank you so much, wishing you all the best for your birthday πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

