One month in…

10389236_10203070965709115_5014884398783840817_n

So as it’s officially April 1st I wanted to make a quick post to summarise a few things and share some thoughts. April is by far my favourite time of year (not just because it’s my birthday month!) but also because everything is so fresh and optimistic for the year ahead. This year is flying by though right? We’re a quarter of the way through already!

There are so many things I want to do while I’m here and I’m determined to make them happen. Travelling the country and seeing new places goes without saying although finding the time is tricky. Soon Easter is coming (I think a week later for Orthodox Christians) which means Shota will have time off work and we could potentially go somewhere then, or else we just spend the time really ticking off our to-do lists. Easter is the biggest celebration of the year in Georgia so there’s lots of activity now with people colouring their eggs, buying flowers and preparing for family visits. I will do a detailed post about Easter in Georgia because it’s really quite something… It feels almost like everyone has been hibernating over winter and things are finally gaining pace again!

So along with Easter, we’re also preparing to move into our flat. Ideally we want to be there by the end of summer so fingers crossed. I’m so excited but the process of building and furnishing is enough to drive anyone crazy. Last weekend and the weekend just gone was spent in horribly smelly and industrial parts of the city choosing and transporting our tiles for the bathroom and kitchen as well as the cement, ceiling panels and everything we will need for installation.

On Sunday we finally got everything there and delivered only to find our bedroom window had fallen out! I was livid. The wind had been quite strong but our flat is on the 8th floor so you can only imagine. The people responsible insisted that it was no problem even after we explained that kids play behind there… I can’t even bear the thought. This week they’ve promised a replacement but today is Wednesday and it still hasn’t happened… So yes, that’s just one aspect of the hell of furnishing a flat in Georgia. I’m just trying to focus on being able to paint the flat and dedicate a few weeks to loud music and messy clothes while Shota’s at work.

Also I’ve officially started my online teaching and have two students now which is quite exciting. I’m a little bit nervous as to how it will go but so far students I’ve had are progressing well so I must be helping somehow. I need to finish tweaking my website too… I’ve also been offered a job at an art school here and next week will visit them to discuss classes and details of the position. It’s not something I need while I’m here but it should be able to teach me something in the meantime, and would be a great way for me to get back into painting and getting my hands messy again! Besides, what’s more inspiring than kids’ creativity?

Another thing is that I’ve been made company representative in the UK to a wine company, so am having to plan which wines we want to sell, where, who, how, and from which website (that I haven’t yet created). It will take time but it all sounds very exciting and I’m so thrilled to be given such an opportunity! Georgian wine really is as great as everyone says and I’m determined to only choose the best, most unique wines to present to the clubs of London and Edinburgh. What a hard job it will be taste-testing all of these organic wines to see which ones are worthy!

On top of that I’m still working on this essay. It’s going to be about 3000 words in total not counting the laborious task of assembling the bibliography (part of me really enjoys that kind of mindless routine though) but Christ, it’s so time consuming. The topic is interesting, the readings are compelling, the brief is exciting… It’s just taking the time to sit down and do it. I’ve been procrastinating like mad because I know it won’t take me long, but I still want to avoid a last-minute rush too.

I want to at the very least get this essay blitzed and ready to go before Easter, then should really focus my attentions on other things too. Unfortunately this means I probably won’t be blogging anywhere near as much as I’d like to throughout April with work and Easter, but I will do my best!

This first month in the blogging world has done so much for me I can’t even describe. I’ve never been part of a more kind and positive community so thank you all! I’m really beginning to see the world through a fresh pair of eyes each day too, which is so so necessary when living in a different culture where it can be quite easy to misunderstand and be misunderstood. My naivety has returned, replacing the horribly-adult frustrations and logic I’ve been blinded by. I have plenty of ideas ready to post as soon as I have the time, so once this essay is done I can really create a stricter schedule for myself to cover all grounds.

Again thank you for your support and always such kind words and, even though I may not be posting as much in these coming weeks, I still intend to be active and can’t wait to read more of your posts! What are your plans for April?

Oh, and I’ll leave you with this, which I’m currently scooting around to while ignoring the grey skies outside… Summer’s coming! Summer’s coming!

20 thoughts on “One month in…

  1. lowcountry.felicity.life says:

    Hi Chloe, I am not a world traveler and when I saw Georgia in your by-line I thought it was the Georgia in the USA (that is until I did not recognize the city name)! This tweaked my interest so I visited your blog….I am so excited to read more of your experiences and see a different part of the world through your writing!

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Thank you! I hope I can do this Georgia justice (: It’s definitely another world for me so I’m intending to write more about what lifestyle here is like. I’m glad you enjoy and am looking forward to your posts too!

      Like

  2. The WheatandTares says:

    Thanks for the follow, and I love reading about your adventures. What a wonderful life experience you’re getting to enjoy! I hope you have a great month ahead, and Happy early bday! …You and I share the same month and “states” in which we live; although, our locations are on opposite sides of the globe! Haha. 😉 I look forward to reading more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

