Ten things that made me happy this week!

March 2
1: The beach! You saw my post ‘Sur la Plage‘? Isn’t it just beautiful! I’m so thankful to live a bit further away but with fresh air, the temperature is rising in Tbilisi so the dust and smells are much stronger. I forgot to mention that there are wild lizards at the beach. Wild lizards. Georgia also has wild tortoises but I’m yet to find one to befriend.

2: My sweet’s televised interview at work. You can see him in the photo above, isn’t he great? He’s been working so hard recently and Monday is the big reveal so it should pay off for him. Plus he’s so handsome as a representation of Georgia to the EU…

3: Reading Simone de Beauvoir‘s The Second Sex again. She’s just perfect, I love the defiance in her tone. If you haven’t read it, do.

4: Starting my own website – finally! It’s been in the air for a while and I feel like I’ve finally managed to get my idea refined and ready to start. If you haven’t seen my previous post, I’m advertising online Skype lessons for teaching English. More details are here if you or a friend might be interested!

5: Visiting Erika and baby Michaela yesterday. We were supposed to paint but Michaela wasn’t too keen on the idea, maybe in a few months would be better. It’s so lovely to see how quickly she’s growing. Plus babies are always so positive to be around!

6: The shmoogs of Tbilisi always cheering me up. No matter how irritated I get, as soon as I see a dog here I relax. They’re just so happy and cheerful. Street dogs are probably my favourite, they have such character and are so intelligent. Do I write about dogs too much?

7: My new coat from Zara! I’ve been lusting over a classic trenchcoat/mac-type-thing for years and I finally got one! I can pretend to be Holly Golightly now.

8: I had an essay epiphany yesterday and managed to hit the nail on the head. It’s so satisfying when that happens… Stay tuned!

9: A Ukrainian girl in Tbilisi contacted me to be the arts writer and speaker for her girls-only group she’s forming for expats in Georgia. Quite exciting and it means I can have a more active roll in the art scene here. Next week we’re filming a TV show for it…

10: The blogging community! For ages I’ve been meaning to jump into this world and I have to say this last month has been so fun. I love chatting to you and getting to know you all, and reading about so many topics and musings is so inspiring for me – thank you!

What have been your highlights this week? I hope you’ve had a glorious weekend!

13 thoughts on “Ten things that made me happy this week!

  1. mysweetmelange says:

    Just reading your mention of Simone de Beauvoir’s “The Second Sex” makes me want to read it all over again, as well. It’s such a well thought and well written book!
    @Zara coat: I got a similar coat from two years ago and when I’m wearing it I feel like Superwoman, it’s like a confidence boost. Does that sound weird?!

    & I don’t think you can ever write too much about dogs. Animals in general are always worth talking about!

    My highlight of the week was getting feedback on my first interior design projects in my online course. I thought I had made tons of mistakes, but in the end I wasn’t that bad at all. Teaching yourself AutoCAD isn’t the easiest thing, but it paid off in my results!

    The art project sounds really interesting, I hope all goes well for you!
    Good luck to your Mr. Handsome, eh, Mr. Georgia! 😉

    Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Simone would be proud! (:
      Yes! I feel exactly the same, it’s like a power coat. Besides it’s such a lightweight, pretty style but with a crisp cut – two birds with one stone!
      Haha thank you for confirming that it’s okay, I’ll let loose in future hah.
      Wow well done! My friend does Interior Design and it sounds so different to how I would’ve imagined. I had to learn CAD at school, absolute hell, so well done you!
      Thank you! This week is time for planning the essay and design piece so it should be quite enjoyable now that I have my idea
      Thank you for your well-wishes, isn’t he lovely? (:

      Like

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      I completely agree, I’ve had to consciously take note of the good things rather than being overwhelmed by the bad but since starting these posts it’s getting much easier for me to take a more positive approach (: Looking forward to reading what you write!

      Liked by 1 person

    • itstartedinoxford says:

      Thanks! Only time will tell how successful it will be… It’s about as close to the sea I can get here without travelling 5 hours west to the Black Sea (which I’m determined to visit this summer!) it’s not quite the same without fish n chips though… I’m loving your blog by the way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

